The Minnesota Peony Society (MPS) purpose is to foster the sharing of knowledge and enjoyment to our members in the culture of peonies and to promote the genus peonia. We support educational events, sponsor a regional flower show and serve as a local affiliate of the American Peony Society. MPS is open to anyone with the interest in peonies. Our online mission is to keep you informed of events and share resources in the upper Midwest area of the United States, specifically in the State of Minnesota. You are welcome to explore our peony culture information and visit our photo galleries. We hope you enjoy our website.


Minnesota has a rich history with the peony. Pioneers brought these treasured plants with them when they made their homestead here. There were also several early internationally known peony hybridizers who made there home here in Minnesota. They included Archie Brand, Alonzo Franklin, Eugene Lins of Cologne, MN., and the Brands to name a few. The first beginnings of the Minnesota Peony Society started as the Minnesota Horticultural Society then The Minnesota Flower Society or The Northwest Peony and Iris Society which changed to the Minnesota Peony and Iris Society in the 1940s. While mostly the same people belonged to all three groups, the iris lovers didn’t get enough attention to discuss their irises. The members and officers were “all peony lovers” and so the societies split in 1951 although Iris Society members both continued with the old peony group for friendship and joint shows until the shows eventually split apart.


A.M. Brand and Edward Flynn


2020 – 2021 Officers

President: Todd Rabell O’Halloran, Hastings
Vice President: Cindy Larson, Hillman
Recording Secretary: Karen Mack, Minneapolis
Treasurer/Membership: Linette Sorrentino, Chaska
Newsletter Editor: Mary Yee, Edina
Past President: David Sorrentino, Chaska

Directors at Large

Kathy Julius, Golden Valley
Mary Schwartzbauer, Hastings (term expires fall 2022)

Committee Chairs

Root Auction Chair: Linette Sorrentino, Chaska
Exhibition Chair: 
Garden Tour/Picnic Chair: Michelle Conley, Eagan
Hospitality Chair: Mary Schwartzbauer, Hastings
Publisher: Denese Erickson, St Louis Park
Facebook Chair: Linette Sorrentino, Chaska
Volunteer Chair: Raquel Crescini, Edina
Web Site: David Sorrentino, Chaska
Scientific Studies: Harvey Buchite, Spring Grove
Publicity :


Click the following link to view the Minnesota Peony Society Bylaws:

MN Peony Society Bylaws